Select Page

2019 Alumni Association Awards

Home » Campus News Latest » News » 2019 Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association Board of Directors has announced the recipients of this year’s awards given by the Alumni Association. Nominations were received from the entire Antiochian community. The nominations were reviewed by the Alumni Board Nominations Committee which presented candidates to the full Board for discussion and ratification. The recipients will be honored at Reunion 2019 (see details below). The recipients are:

Horace Mann Award: Stephen Arpadi ’75 and Don Thea ’76

The Horace Mann Award recognizes contributions by alumni of Antioch College who have “won some victory for humanity,” following Horace Mann’s advice to the graduating class of 1859. Recipients are persons, or groups of persons, whose personal or professional activities have had a profound effect on the present or future human condition. Mann was the first president of Antioch College.

Arthur Morgan Award: Larry Pearl  ’55

The Arthur Morgan Award recognizes contributions by alumni or friends of the College which exemplify the concept of “community” advocated by Arthur Morgan. The nominees for this award should be persons, or groups of persons, who have contributed to their community — either local, national or world — in a manner which brings members of the community together in order to work toward common goals. Morgan served as President of Antioch College for 16 years.

Rebecca Rice Award: Larry Leamer ’64

The Rebecca Rice Award recognizes alumni of Antioch College who by their actions, achievements, and leadership have distinguished themselves and their alma mater. The recipients of this award are persons who have excelled in their vocation or field of study. The award is named for the first female trustee — and longtime faculty member — of Antioch College.

J.D. Dawson Award: Bob Fogarty

The J.D. Dawson Award recognizes significant contributions to Antioch College by alumni or friends of Antioch. The recipients of this award are be persons who have contributed in a significant way to Antioch College or a program of Antioch College. Perhaps best-known for his involvement with the Co-op department, J.D. Dawson’s entire career was dedicated to Antioch College.

Walter F. Anderson Award: LaShann M. DeArcy Hall ’92

The Walter F. Anderson Award recognizes contributions by alumni and friends who have advanced Antioch College’s ideals by breaking down racial and ethnic barriers. The award is named for Antioch’s longtime music department chair, the first African-American department head at a historically non-black institution of higher education. Recipients have shown fortitude and effectiveness in promoting diversity within the Antioch community and beyond.

The recipients will be featured at Alumni Award Plenary sessions in McGregor Hall room 113 on Friday, July 12 at 1:45 PM, and Saturday, July 13 at 2:30.  Judge LaShann DeArcy Hall will present the Second A. Leon Higginbotham Distinguished Seminar Series presentation on Friday, July 12 at 4:15 PM at the Wellness Center at Antioch College in the South Gym (please enter through the south/rear entry).

Learn more about Reunion 2019 and register today.