Select Page

Presidential Search Committee Formed, Chaired by Ro Nita Hawes-Saunders

Home » Campus News Latest » Office of the President » Presidential Search Committee Formed, Chaired by Ro Nita Hawes-Saunders

Dear Antioch Community,

The Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the formation of our presidential search committee. The Executive Committee of the Board assembled the committee based on broad representation and community ties. They will meet on February 11, 2021 to begin the process of finding the next president of Antioch College.

Ro Nita Hawes-Saunders, chief executive officer of the internationally acclaimed
Dayton Contemporary Dance Company, will chair our search committee. Ms. Hawes-Saunders has deep ties to the Dayton community, not only through DCDC, but through successful broadcasting properties and service to the community, especially to women and minorities in business ownership. The Board chose Ms. Hawes-Saunders in part because of her work on the Board of Trustees of Denison University (her alma mater). During her former tenure on the Board, she served on the executive search committees for two presidents of the University, as well as chaired the Student Development Committee and served on the Finance, Institutional Advancement, Enrollment, and Honorary Degrees committees. She is now a lifetime member of Denison’s Board of Trustees.

Future updates about the work of the search committee will be available on our Presidential Search website. You can also send feedback via our online form.

The search committee is comprised of students, faculty, and staff, as well as alumni, community members, and current Board members.

Their names are below.

Ro Nita Hawes-Saunders (Chair, Search Committee)
Maureen Lynch (Board of Trustees Chair, Yellow Springs community member)
Shelby Chestnut ’05 (Board of Trustees Vice Chair)
Tom Callhan ’89
Michael Casselli ’87 (Trustee, faculty, Yellow Springs community member)
Chris Chavers ’21 (Trustee, student)
Wakka Ciccone ’05 (staff, Yellow Springs community member)
Gabrielle Civil (former faculty)
Mila Cooper (Dean of Students, VP for Student Affairs)
Shane Creepingbear ’08 (Trustee, staff, Yellow Springs community member)
Shalini Deo ’02 (Trustee)
Rick Detweiler (former president of the Great Lakes College Association, friend of the College)
Coco Gagnet ’18 (Community Manager)
Noah Greer ’22 (student)
John Jacobs ’76 (Trustee, Senior Vice President for Finance)
Kevin McGruder (Vice President for Academic Affairs, faculty member, Yellow Springs community member)
Susan Mayer ’79 (Trustee)
Sharon Merriman ’55 (Trustee)
Karen Mulhauser ’65 (Trustee, President of the Alumni Association)
Steven Thurston Oliver ’90 (Alumni Board member)
Josue Salmeron ’06 (Yellow Springs Village Manager, Yellow Springs community member)
Anita Brown (committee admin)

We look forward to engaging with you over the weeks and months ahead.


Maureen Lynch
Chair, Board of Trustees